World Series

A stop at Kwik Trip reminded us that eight current Major League Baseball franchises have never won a World Series.  It is amazing what a gas pump can tell you.  It took the drive home to figure out the eight franchises in question.  Remember that it is franchises and not cities and you should get it.

It is also interesting that the two combatants in this year’s fall classic have the first and second longest streak without a World Series win.  The eight without a win started after the Indians won their last Series.  If the Cubs lose this World Series they will have lost eight consecutive World Series and continued their bad century, no World Series wins since 1908.  If they win, then the Indians inherit the mantle of the team with the longest time competing without a World Series win.  At least with a Cubs win then everyone with a win would have won since World War II.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s